Freedom vs. Security

What is more important to you?  Freedom or security?

This is a hot topic in the US lately.  It seems that the people of this country are trading their freedoms one by one with the hope that this will enable our government to make us more secure.

Personally, I value my freedom over my security, and I’ll tell you why.  I’ve grown up in a country that told me that I have the right to my own opinion and to voice that opinion, I have the right to choose what religion I wish to follow, I have the right to choose my career path, to make decisions about my own body, and to do pretty much anything I want to do, so long as I’m not causing anyone harm.  I first learned this in school.  They taught me that people fought and died for me to have these freedoms.  I also learned in school, that not every country has the same freedoms, and that I should be grateful for what we have here.  They taught me to love my country and to love my freedom.

Since learning the above, I’ve come to my own conclusions about how MY life should be.  I know what I like and what I don’t like because no restrictions were placed on me.  I always have a choice, and though some of lifes choices may be difficult, they’re mine to make.  I take responsibility for my success and my failure.  I am where I am (and you are where you are) because at some point, this is where I chose to be.

Another reason I value my freedom over my security is that, NOBODY can guarantee my security.  The government cannot keep me safe from every threat no matter how much power we give them.  Nothing in life, except death, is guaranteed.  Life is not always easy or fair.  That’s just the way it is, whether you want to accept it or not.

If I die tomorrow, I may not have lived a long life, but I spent it the way I chose to.  I would know that I spent it with the people I love, doing the things I love, having my own mind.  And that, to me, means more than all the security in the world.

Leave a Reply

